This lovely octagonal two storey building was constructed by Admiral Heneage-Vivian as an ornamental folly (summerhouse). Although today it is surrounded by mature trees, when built it was positioned as a viewpoint for the surrounding garden and Swansea Bay. The Admiral is said to have had a telescope mounted inside to observe the passing vessels in the Bay. The Gazebo is presently not open to the public.
This striking red and white bridge, located adjacent to the Mayals Road entrance, is one of the most picturesque features of the garden. Originally constructed during Admiral Heneage –Vivian’s time, the beautiful timber structure is an icon of oriental garden style. It sits below the pond, arching the cascades of water streaming from the pond outflow above.
This miniature cottage is located on a steep slope overlooking the pond. It is a curious building, now used as a shelter with benches inside. Admiral Heneage-Vivian originally had it built as a playhouse and schoolroom for his daughters. It remained in its original condition with glazed windows and a cooker until the 1970s. In Spring 2019 it was destroyed by fire and has since been restored.
This feature is all that remains of a much grander and more extensive Italianate garden featuring running water and statuary. This garden ran down the centre of a slope below the south front of Clyne Castle. Water ran from the now empty pool beneath the bridge down to a cistern of Cornish granite that still exists today.
An unusual graveyard is the feature that greets visitors entering Clyne Gardens via the St Catwg’s Walk entrance. A dozen or so original sandstone headstones mark the final resting place of many of Admiral Heneage-Vivian’s family dogs. The stones reveal their names and the year of their passing. From historical photos and anecdotal evidence we know that many were the Admiral's favourite breed, The Manchester Terrier.
William Graham Vivian had this beautiful Chapel built in 1908 to provide religious services for his family and estate workers. Graham Vivian himself, his sister Dulcie and the Admiral are buried in a private vault beneath the existing Chapel. The building is situated 100 yards from the main entrance to Clyne Gardens and can also be accessed from the Mayals Road. Visitors are allowed into the surrounding grounds to view the Chapel.
Built in around 1928 the Tower is located in a sheltered opening amongst oak trees. It has been found to be one of the most charming and unusual features of any garden in the UK. The cylindrical stone structure, approximately 5 metres high was constructed, complete with viewing platform, by Admiral Heneage-Vivianin order that he could overlook his then newly developed Rhododendron garden. Today, visitors, particularly children (of all ages!), love to climb the spiral staircase to the top just for the sheer fun of it!